Monday, August 11, 2008

Key Disaster Assistance Deadline Approaching

An important deadline to be eligible for the new Federal disaster assistance program is nearing, so now is the time to submit your paperwork. The new Farm Bill creates five new disaster programs, collectively referred to as Supplemental Agriculture Disaster Assistance programs. Those programs include:

  • Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honey Bees, and Farm-Raised Fish (ELAP)
  • Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP)
  • Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP)
  • Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program
  • Tree Assistance Program (TAP)
To be eligible for these programs, producers must purchase at least catastrophic risk protection (CAT) crop insurance for all insurable crops and/or Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) coverage for non-insurable crops.

However, for the 2008 crop year only, producers who were eligible to get at least CAT level crop insurance or NAP, but did not, can “buy-in” to be eligible to participate in the applicable programs by paying the administrative fee that would have been applicable if the producer had applied for CAT or NAP in time.

The deadline to “buy-in” is Sept. 16, 2008. For more information contact your local Farm Service Agency (FSA) county office or visit the USDA-FSA Web site.

Also, the Texas Department of Agriculture has updated our Disaster Resource Information Packet and it can be found at our Web site.

No comments: